Google reviews

If you would like to leave us a review on Google

Please Click Here

  • Christopher Coleman 3 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    In the last 25 or so years, I've purchased a number of different used cars with varying degrees of satisfaction with car dealerships / salespeople.Today I purchased my first ever new car (MG5 EV) from Thompson First. The experience has been, from start to finish, comfortably the best experience I have ever had in buying a car. Scott in particular has been very helpful. Most of the transaction has taken place over email and I visited the showroom today for the first time to collect the car. I'm really very impressed and very grateful.I would recommend Thompson First without hesitation. I would also recommend using them even if you aren't particularly local because so much can be done remotely.The car itself is exceptional as well. If you're considering the move to EV motoring, MG really must be on your shortlist.
  • Michael Neale 3 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Great service from Jack and his colleagues! Found me the perfect car and took my existing car in as part ex.Very friendly, honest and fair. Couldnt of been easier. Look forward to my next purchase with them! Thanks
  • Judith Ralethoko 3 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Very impressive with the service from Jack and his colleague, when we first went to see the vehicle I like. Myself and my partner loved one car , test drive it, them we bought within a very short timeI left Thompson very happy on that day
  • Mark Lander 4 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    I have used Thompson First for a couple of years now and Im very pleased with their friendly and efficient service. I collected a new MG5 on Christmas Eve. The whole process has been most enjoyable and I would thoroughly recommend both the car and Thompson First. Thank you Scott.
  • Anne-Marie Silver 2 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Just bought my brand new MG HS today. Thank you Scott for your valuable help. I love my new car. This is the 3rd car Ive bought from Thompson First the 1st car was back in 2007. Thank you
  • Jade Griffiths 2 weeks ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Scott and his team were super helpful and incredibly efficient getting us a new car. Using Thompson First has been a really positive experience and we highly recommend them.
  • Simon Jones a month ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Friendly sales staff, very knowledgeable about the vehicles. As a Motability customer I have used various dealerships since 2012 and I was glad to see Thompson First were my local dealership for MG.
  • Kenny Hunter 2 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Great customer service. Love the car. Used Thompson First over many years. Travelled over 200 miles to still use as would be reluctant to go elsewhere.
  • Debbie Grant 6 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    I bought my new MG ZS from Thompson first Stroud last week- I found them to be trustworthy, great value and the little extra touches gave a personal service. AsI live in Scotland, everything was done online via email. It was a seamless transaction, Scott and Ellie were very professional and I had no concerns, delivery was arranged and my new car is fabulous!
  • K Greenfield 2 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    I have just bought a 6mth old car from Thompson after seeing it online.Very pleased with it.The Thompson salesman,Jack and his colleague were very helpful and pleasant and will be returning for servicing after taking out a service plan.
  • Craig Stead 6 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    I recently purchased an MG HS PHEV from Thompsons First. Excellent customer service from start to finish, Ellie Lees was really helpful and made the buying process really easy and hassle free. I love my new car and would fully recommend Thompsons First MG.
  • Graham Mayling a month ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Im happy to give a 5 star review.Scot did everything possible to make this, my first experience with MG, a most enjoyable event.I test drove the MG ZS TROPHY EV and was impressed enough to make an immediate purchase
  • christine ansell wells 6 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    I am a motability customer and buyer/Ellie was so great and efficient in all aspects of the processThe car even arrived two weeks early. Ellie went beyond what I would have expectedThompsom have serviced my old vehicle and the service has always been very excellentThankYouChristine
  • Melissa Briggs a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Very happy with my MGZSEV purchased from Thompson First at the end of 2019 - my first electric car. (Will never go back to petrol/diesel.) Efficient and friendly customer service - Ellie, Scott and Mark are all super helpful. First service carried out in December and updates all installed when available. Give them a go!
  • Dominic and Jade Maloney 2 days ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Very professional & friendly service from Scott. We absolutely love the car, thank you so much for all your help!
  • R C Bulpin 4 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    A very easy and efficient purchase of our new EV. We would recommend Scott and the ease at which our car was delivered and our old car dispensed of! Thanks
  • Steve a month ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Bought my new MG ZS EV through Thompson First. The service I received was first rate and nothing was too much trouble! I certainly intended to return in the future for all my car servicing needs.
  • Yvonne Greenway 2 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Excellent customer service, really helpful and kept me updated on cars progress. Highly recommend. Thank all.
  • Ellis Richard 7 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    The Team and MG Thompson First are very helpful and well informed. We have an MG5 and have been well looked after. Ellie was also able to link us in with a great local firm who install home charging points.
  • Andrw Giles 4 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Picked up my new car from Thompson first on 14th of January 2001 plated MG HS absolutely loved the car really glad I bought it and Thompsons were a pleasure to do business with with
  • Elmrep Office Solutions 6 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Thank you for such a positive and smooth experience buying our new MG5 EV. Your knowledge, service and communication has been excellent through the whole process.
  • Ben Rosow 8 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    I first came to Thompson's when I arrived in the UK Dec 2016. I test drove three models and they were very generous about giving me plenty of time in each, no sales pressure, and all questions thoroughly answered. My impression was of a family business that truly offers personal service. The fact that I did not buy from them at the time is simply due to a particular car I found elsewhere.Spring 2021: When my wife saw a late model used high end vehicle there online at agreat price (I'll call it an AAAA, and we had owned 3 of them in the States) , we jumped at the chance and negotiated a very good deal. As usual, working with Scott was very low stress. However, after driving the AAAA for about 2k miles, we concluded that the recent generation car had several aspects that we were not crazy about compared to our previous experience with the brand. It was an excellent car, but we are quite picky and we had a case of buyer's remorse.I called Scott up and explained the situation. He offered to buy it back at a more than fair price. I had not expected such good treatment from a car dealer. Conclusion: buy with confidence from Thompson First. They are a rare exception to the rule of sleaze in the retail car business. I will definitely look to Thompson's next time I am in the market for a car.-Happy in Stroud
  • Rob Duffy 7 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    From our first email contact till collection of our MG5 LR, Ellie (and Scott) have been timely, polite, professional and knowledgeable. Theyre not our closest dealer, but well be going back to Thompson First for servicing; I dont think I can give them a greater compliment than that.
  • Alun & Diane Davies 2 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Very pleasant experience. Staff helpful and friendly, keeping us informed about the progress of our order. Good handover.
  • Lewis Painter 5 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Ellie and the team was really helpful and informative about the new car did everything possible to get me the best deal and got the car ready for me within 2 day.
  • Janette Hawksley a month ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Excellent service, Salesmen were very helpful and polite making it all veryeasy. altogether a pleasant experience.
  • Andy WRATHBONE 6 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Fantastic service from Ellie, Scott and the team at Thompsons in Stroud as always. Even the spectre of Covid lurking in the wings couldn't stop this great team from getting the job done smoothly and without a hitch. We have nothing but the highest praise for the crew at Thomson First in Stroud. That is what keeps bringing us back time after time. 10/10
  • Paul Hawkins 11 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    What a great company! Ellie and Scott were great dealing with my purchase of a new MG HS, what a fantastic car by the way!I made 2 visits to the dealership and was made to feel really welcome and provided with refreshments.I've emailed Ellie in Sales on a number of occasions and received a prompt response and answer to all of my queries, thank you Although I live in Swindon and could have dealt with the local dealership, I've decided to return to Thompson First for a small repair job because of the fantastic customer service I have received to date.I would highly recommend Thompson First
  • Patricia Bull 6 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Very welcoming and pleasant staff made to feel at ease, the whole process of buying a car so simple and with lots of support to assist with issues in the future if there are any.
  • Kenneth Stook 10 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Thank you again to the great team at Thompson First with my purchase of a MG5 EV. Ellie, Scott and Mark always put the customer first and make you feel so welcome, not just for purchasing a new car but with excellent after sales service. The car is brilliant, a very worthy replacement for my lovely DS5. Thank you again.
  • TrassseB 11 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    I have never had such a pleasant experience purchasing a car, it was worth every mile of the 115 we traveled to get there from London.firstly Scott and then Ellie were so helpful and caring made me feel so comfortable and everything when smoothly Ellie even offers to pick us up from the train station.I strongly recommend Thompson First over all other MG dealers who I had appalling experiences with like WLMG.Thompson first especially Ellie & Scott are happy to offer outstanding costumer service.
  • Dave Evans 2 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    I had a wonderful experience dealing with the staff at Thompson First, Jack inparticular was very helpful in dealing with me and my queries.
  • TIM ROGERS 5 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Very pleased with every aspect of my used car deal very relaxed staff (Jack and scott) easy to deal with overall well impressed
  • Electric Vehicle Life 9 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Very friendly and helpful staff throughout the process of booking the service to dropping it off on the day and they also fixed my air conditioning which another MG dealer had told me was working fine when it clearly wasn't. Will definitely be using again.
  • Mike Taylor a month ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Fantastic customer service. Good local firm. Great pricing.
  • Adrian Leach a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    I have just purchased my first electric vehicle (MG5) at Thompson First (Stroud) and cannot fault the experience in any way. Both Scott and Ellie were very easy to deal with, and not in the least "pushy" throughout the purchasing process. I have had this car for 4days now and covered over 200miles in it already. It is easy to drive, smooth and quiet (I only needed a 1mile test drive to realise that I was going to like it!). I would say it's the most comfortable car I have ever owned. I am managing to match the battery range figures quite easily, although the weather has been mild. It ticks every box for 99% of my motoring needs and I'm hoping it will be a very cost effective means of transport for some time to come. It's a good compromise of range and carrying capacity and with the 7year warranty (which includes the battery) should provide worry-free motoring for the forseeable future. I was gutted to have to sell my Renault Clio diesel after 19yrs of ownership, but this car does everything better by a large margin (provided you remain aware of the 214 mile range limitations). I love it already and I have absolutely no regrets in buying this car.
  • Guillaume ROBERT 7 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    This is my 2nd car purchased at Thompson Stroud. The team offers great products and after sales service versus money. I recommend.G Robert
  • Clare Evans a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Thank you to Thompson first, especially Ellie Lees who went above and beyond to help me purchase my MG HS. As I am from Wales, she made sure all paperwork and anything else needed was all sorted for when I drove up on Saturday,to save me another trip to Gloucester to pick the car up and sign papers later in the weekGreat service all round .I am loving my knee car
  • Bain McLeod 4 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Bought our first EV from Jack. Very helpful and very good service.
  • Steve Philpott 10 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    We have been customers of Thompson First for 16 years. Our experience with them has been fantastic. The attention to detail, customer service, aftercare and making sure the cars are suitable for us are second to none. Ellie is a great asset to the company, always caring, never presumptuous and knows which cars meet our requirements. We have been Citron customers, but now proud to have an MG ZS which is a great car, and matches the comfort of the Citron Picasso, C4 Grand, DS3 and C3 Air Cross. Thompson really are First.
  • jim clarkson 4 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Couldn't have gone smoother, great car for my son for his birthday!
  • Alex Dunn a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    I bought my Citroen C5 Tourer from Thompson First 3 years ago together with a very generous after-sales package of free MOTs, bulb replacements, courtesy car, car washes, etc. The car itself has been very reliable, economical, and a pleasure to drive. My annual MOTs and services have been completed on time and to a high standard. This year there was a minor hiccup in that my new MOT could not be printed because of a printer problem but I expect to receive it by post in the near future. All the staff are friendly and welcoming and the Covid 19 precautions carefully laid out.
  • Roger Sims 11 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Friendly, knowledgeable and helpful family run business. Scott, Ellie and Mark make an excellent front of house team which I know is well supported by the back office. Excellent.
  • Ertan Aziz 8 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    I spoke to two very nice people Scott and Ellie and they gave me a very good service it was a pleasure to buy my vehicle from them MG ZS Exclusive
  • Christopher Hallett 11 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Travelled from Manchester to collect new MG3 for Mrs Joy Hallett. First class service (no pun intended) from beginning to end. Ellie personally looked after Joy during the purchase. Would highly recommend Thompson First and MG.
  • B a year ago Rated 1.0 out of 5
    January 2019 I purchased a vehicle from here and a salesman by the name of Darren Woodworm dealt with me. Purchasing my first car I was lacking knowledge, trusting the salesman but he had provided me all the wrong information, lied to me about the owners of the vehicle, lied about damage on the vehicle. Was also told my deposit is not refundable, which was lied!!
  • derek scrivens (del56) 7 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    I am very happy with the great service I received from Scott and the team .Top service with no pressure made me feel very relaxed about the whole process and look forward to a long history with team
  • John Westmore a month ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Thanks to Scott and all the team at Thompsons First. Professional and efficient service, as always.
  • Peter Kingscott 7 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    The service was really good they were happy to answer any questions and was very clear on all the paperwork and wat was involved with the payments and all the paperwork would highly recommend using them every time
  • kathy mitchell 8 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Excellent service from the staff, particularly Ellie who made sure that everything was perfect for the collection of my new car.
  • Nigel Boor a month ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Very friendly & helpful staff (& very patient about being messed about by the Covid situation).
  • Tim Fogarty a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    A very friendly family run company who make you feel a valued customer. First class service from their mechanics and helpful advice freely given. I would highly recommend them.
  • Ben 3 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Just bought a used DS4 from these guys and couldn't be happier with the car and the service. Rang up for a test drive on a Saturday and they slotted me straight in within the hour. Car was as described and Scott was very welcoming, no pressuring at all unlike my experiences with other major dealers.I asked for time to think about it and he gave me his details. I called back later that day to put a deposit down and he walked me through what they'd do with the car, including a service and replace anything with less than 50% of life left.Handover a week later was effortless and I'd thoroughly recommend buying from them!
  • Nicola Ryland a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    We needed a new vehicle quickly, Thompson went above and beyond to find what we needed, we were unable to test drive the vehicle due to covid rules, they did it all for us, highly professional, trust worthy and reliable garage. We wouldn't go anywhere else
  • Natalya Scott 2 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Excellent service and friendly staff. My new car was ready for collection early and the part exchange went really well. I love my new car - Thank you Thompson First.
  • Louise Eley a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    A swift professional experience, Ellie was helpful from the first test drive through to us collecting our new car less than a week later
  • Joanna Webb 2 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Just had my C1 MOT done by Thompson First. Just dropped the car off and everything was taken care of . They kept me informed all the way along about what I needed done . It was a competitive price and the car was retired washed . Fantastic.
  • Paul Little 3 years ago Rated 3.0 out of 5
    Called to book a test drive in the morning, appointment for 3.30 that afternoon was made, get a call 45 mins before test drive saying they had sold the car to someone else. Not great customer service, why sell a car when test drive already booked? No effort to offer / source alternative vehicle again poor service, it seems to be all about the easy money which is sad from a small family run dealer.
  • James minty a month ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Amazing service totally recommendedVery professional
  • Georgie Roberts a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Bought my first car from here and could not be happier. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend!
  • Janet Newcombe a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Just had a wonderful experience when changing our car, looked after very well and the whole transaction went well very helpful staff and couldn't do enough for us, thankyou to all
  • Wilf Williams a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Fantastic service from the start of the sale to the handover of our new car, Ellie was helpfull, friendly and a true credit to her workplace, this is a shining example of customer service, thanks Ellie and we love the car
  • Alan Poole 4 years ago Rated 3.0 out of 5
    OK if you want a new car, not helpful when looking for a used vehicle. I didn't want to have a new car this time (I have had four new cars from them) gave them details of what I was looking for second hand and no response. If you have tyres changed on alloy wheels check your wheels carefully before leaving, on three occasions they have badly scratched wheels on my car's. They have repaired them to be fair but the damage should not have occurred in the first place.
  • Patrick Kinsella 3 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Absolutely brilliant service. My van is only 10 weeks old and I had an issue with the central locking and the rear door catch. It was booked in with a hire van which was ready when I arrived. The booking was for Tomorrow but I turned up this afternoon as agreed. I am a window cleaner and planned to use a mobile device for the day in the hire van, unfortunately this broke today. I explained this and asked if I could drop it in the next day and wait. They managed to fix both issues this afternoon which meant I don't have the issue of being unable to work tomorrow.We sat and waited, it was really quickly resolved and we were offered tea and coffee while waiting. Cannot praise them enough!
  • Graham D Peters a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Very helpful staff. Good to deal with. Giving personal care and knowledgeable on the cars they sell. Goo test drive experience.
  • Ian Martin a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Great dealership, brilliant customer service. I dealt with Ellie and she was amazing. Would highly recommend Thompson First.
  • Heather Tinkler a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Very helpful and friendly staff. Gave us time to consider and ask questions. I felt like they were there to help not just for the sale. Ellie was very helpful.
  • Zoe Witts 5 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Absolutely amazing experience very professional and helpful.
  • Joanne louise 9 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Thanks to Ellie for our lovely mg hs lovley car and very good customer service and delivery
  • ashish sabharwal 10 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Excellent service. Specially Ellie made the whole process very simple and straightforward.
  • Callum Hedges 8 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Fantastic service, feels genuine and honest, would highly recommend
  • Steve Kenny 9 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Communication - excellent.Issue resolution - excellent.Customer experience - excellent.
  • Sam Morton 11 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Always friendly and helpful. I trust them to do a good job and not charge the earth.
  • Sasha Lee 8 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Fantastic service, highly recommend for MOTs, repairs etc.
  • Daphne Denton 2 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    The whole experience was friendly, easy and efficient. I am delighted with my new car!
  • Joe Freeman 2 years ago Rated 3.0 out of 5
    Having drove up to Thompson First i was not very happy to find it was closed, Monday 30th and Tuesday 31st it states on the internet that it is open until 6pm new year's day might differ. Monday 30th shut at 4pm and Tuesday 31st 1pm
  • Trina Watkins 4 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Great service, trustworthy team , they have looked after my car for 8years, always helpful and friendly .
  • Kate Parkhurst 10 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Friendly service, helpful without being pushy. Highly recommended
  • Mike Webb a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    "good old fashion service with a smile from the moment you step in the door"
  • Mike Sims 3 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Good, friendly service and know their older models when ordering parts
  • Mark Turner a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Great service, very helpful and efficient.
  • CRAIG P 3 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Best Citron dealer for miles around. Superb service
  • S. L. 9 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Very reliable and helpful thanks!!
  • Jackie williams 11 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Excellent helpful and friendly service!
  • Barbara Miller 3 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Really good and simple buying experience. Very happy.
  • Alec Bradshaw 7 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Efficient service excellent.
  • Sorin Nick 3 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Just serviced my C5. A+ +Thank you.Will use again.
  • Bernadeta Dudka 3 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Great customer service.Would definitely recommend
  • MariMayans 4 years ago Rated 1.0 out of 5
    Pirates - Hold you to Ransom!! - Avoid - Poor customer relations !!
  • Neil Butterworth 2 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Lovely staff ,pleasure to deal with !
  • Stevan Woodham a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Brilliant service again!
  • Trina Watkins a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Always helpful and reliable
  • mark morton 2 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Friendly staff 1st class service
  • Rob Maller 4 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Very good to deal with excellent customer care
  • Nick Marklove 3 years ago Rated 1.0 out of 5
    Still waiting for a call back 3 months ago
  • A K.l 2 years ago Rated 1.0 out of 5
    Dog in showroom unprofessional
  • JP a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Friendly and helpful.
  • Melissa Tiley-Waters 3 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Efficient and friendly
  • Steve Wynn 2 days ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    Professional, friendly, knowledgeable and no pushy sales - great service when purchasing our car.
  • sam sung 3 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false
  • Oliver Thornhill a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false
  • Rebecca Bridges 10 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false
  • stephen williams 4 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false
  • Dave Kent 3 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false
  • jan richings 3 years ago Rated 3.0 out of 5
    false
  • Christine Nash 2 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false
  • Ollie Smith a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false
  • John Jones 10 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false
  • Sue Martin 6 days ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false
  • Owain Evans a month ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false
  • Liisa Newton 4 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false
  • CAROL GILDERSLEVE 2 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false
  • Alice Compton 4 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false
  • Rajesh Gowda 3 years ago Rated 2.0 out of 5
    false
  • Katy Field a year ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false
  • Richard Barnett 3 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false
  • Andrew Forbes 2 years ago Rated 3.0 out of 5
    false
  • Tom Henbrey 3 years ago Rated 1.0 out of 5
    false
  • Nada Es-Sakli 2 years ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false
  • Vicky Logan 2 months ago Rated 5.0 out of 5
    false